National News

Election Commission confirms Jahangir Tareen as MNA

The winner of by-elections from NA-154 region.

Election commission of Pakistan has issued the notification of Jahangir Khan Tareen as the Member of National Assembly. Jahangir Khan Tareen, resident of Model Town Lahore, has won the elections from Lodhran District in the bi-elections held recently.

With the captain and chairman of PTI, Imran Khan.
With the captain and chairman of PTI, Imran Khan.

The notification was issued yesterday by ECP. He was the candidate of MNA from NA-154 region. Jahangir Tareen has won comprehensively over the rival Siddique Khan Baloch securing 1, 38,719 votes from the electoral bank of Lodhran District.

Election commission has released the outcome of by-polls held on December 23rd. According to the official announcement of results, Jahangir secured 1, 38,719 votes and his major rival Siddique Khan was able to grab 99,933 votes. The total registered votes of District are almost 2, 50,700.

None of the independent candidates, who do not have an affiliation with any Political party could score more than 500 votes.

In the meanwhile, ECP has also issued notification for those candidates who have participated in the by-elections from Sindh region to announce affiliation with any political party of their own choice within 7 days.

Jahangir Khan was the electoral candidate from PTI platform while Siddique Baloch was from PML-N.

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)